Gwyn Morgan and David O'Brien: 2003 Canadian Business Leader Award winners

EDMONTON, Sept. 23, 2002 - Gwyn Morgan, CEO EnCana, and David. P. O'Brien, Chair of EnCana's Board, are the recipients of the 2003 Canadian Business Leader Award.

Mr. Morgan and Mr. O'Brien will receive the 2003 Canadian Business Leader Award on March 13, 2003, at an awards dinner at the Shaw Conference Centre in Edmonton.

Gwyn Morgan, 57, is a Petroleum Engineer and a graduate of the University of Alberta. His 30-year career in the oilpatch includes his strong leadership of Alberta Energy Company. Under Morgan, AEC grew to have reach far beyond Alberta's borders. With David O'Brien, Gwyn Morgan oversaw the merger of AEC and PanCanadian Petroleum in April, 2002. Mr. Morgan's record of community involvement includes various directorships and work with Calgary community hospital foundations.

David P. O'Brien, 61, is a lawyer. He is well known for his work with Petro-Canada and especially for his efforts to maximize the power and potential of Canadian Pacific Limited's five operating units. The October, 2001, reorganization created five new public companies, including PanCanadian Petroleum. PanCanadian's merger with AEC created, EnCana, one of the world's largest independent energy companies.

" Canadian Business Leader Award recipients are leaders, entrepreneurs and innovators in the business world," said Mike Percy, Dean of the University of Alberta School of Business. "The careers of Gwyn Morgan and David O'Brien exemplify those things that make a business leader worthy of praise in the business world and in their communities. Their efforts to create the world-class entity called EnCana underscore the fact that Gwyn Morgan and David O'Brien are most worthy recipients of the 2003 CBLA."

The University of Alberta School of Business and its Business Advisory Council has presented the Canadian Business Leader Award annually since 1982 to Canadians whose leadership distinguishes them as men and women worthy of recognition. Recipients are leaders, entrepreneurs and pioneers of progress in the business world.

Past recipients include:

1982: Dr. Francis Winspear
1983: Dr. G.R.A. Rice
1984: John Poole
1985: Ronald D. Southern
1986: Walter F. Light
1987: Stanley A. Milner
1988: Rhys T. Eyton
1989: A. Jean de Grandpre
1990: Max Ward
1991: Laurent Beaudoin
1992: George A. Cohon
1993: Robert Stollery
1994: Richard Haskayne
1995: JR Shaw
1996: J. E. (Ted) Newall
1997: Eric P. Newell
1998: Maureen Kempston Darkes
1999: Gerald J. Maier
2000: Rick George
2001: John Roth
2002: Brian F. MacNeill

Digital photos of Mr. Morgan and Mr. O'Brien are available.

For more information, please contact:

Rod Ziegler
University of Alberta School of Business

ECA stock price

TSX $5.93 Can 0.23

NYSE $4.55 USD 0.19

As of 2019-07-19T16:00:00. Minimum 15 minute delay