Gwyn Morgan to be honoured as recipient of 2002 Ivey Business Leader Award

TORONTO, Sept. 17 /CNW/ - Gwyn Morgan, President and CEO of EnCana Corporation, will be honoured as the 2002 recipient of the Ivey Business Leader Award at a black tie dinner in Toronto on November 19, 2002.

"The legacy of leadership, achievement and inspiration that Gwyn has built during more than 30 years in business is without parallel in Canada," said Charles Winograd, co-Chair of the Award. "In a time when the need for integrity and strong leadership among corporate leaders is more important than ever, Gwyn stands as an example to all."

"Gwyn Morgan's track record of success, as well as his commitment to his community and his country, is impressive," added Lawrence Tapp, Dean of the Richard Ivey School of Business. "We are delighted to honour his dedication to innovation -- not just in business, but for Canadian society as a whole."

With a degree in mechanical engineering and several years' experience working for a natural gas utility, Gwyn Morgan joined Alberta Energy Company Ltd. (AEC) in 1975. He eventually rose to head of the oil and gas division and in 1994 became President and CEO. In April 2002, AEC completed a merger with PanCanadian Energy Corporation to become EnCana, one of the world's leading independent oil and gas companies, with an enterprise value of $30 billion. The deal is widely viewed as one of the most important mergers in the history of the Canadian energy sector, and a template for the creation of future global energy powerhouses headquartered in Canada.

Gwyn's career encompasses more than 30 years of technical, operational, financial and management positions in oil and gas exploration, production, marketing and pipelines. He serves as a director for HSBC Bank Canada, Lafarge North America, the Canadian Council of Chief Executives, and the Institute of the Americas. Other affiliations include the Board of Governors for the Council for Canadian Unity and the Board of Trustees for the Fraser Institute.

Created in 1991 by the Ivey Alumni Association / Toronto, the Ivey Business Leader Award honours an individual or organization that has made a significant contribution to the advancement of business in Canada, and reflects the world-class ideals of the Ivey Business School.

Ivey Business Leader Award winners have demonstrated leadership in both business and their communities. Past recipients of the award include:

  • 2001 - Harrison McCain, Chairman McCain Foods Limited, and G. Wallace McCain, Chairman Maple Leaf Foods Inc.
  • 2000 - Purdy Crawford, Chairman, AT&T Canada; former Chairman Imasco and Canada Trust
  • 1999 - Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited, led by Prem Watsa, Chairman;
  • 1998 - Paul Desmarais, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Power Corporation of Canada;
  • 1997 - Frank Stronach, Chairman of the Board, Magna International Inc.;
  • 1996 - Jean C. Monty, President and CEO, Northern Telecom Limited;
  • 1995 - R. Jack Lawrence, Deputy Chairman, Nesbitt Burns Inc.;
  • 1994 - Robert Nourse, President and CEO, The Bombay Company Inc.;
  • 1993 - Cedric E. Ritchie, Chairman, The Bank of Nova Scotia;
  • 1992 - John C. Carroll, President and CEO, Molson Breweries;
  • 1991 - John M. Thompson, Chairman and CEO, IBM Canada Limited.

The Award is presented annually in Toronto at the prestigious Ivey Business Leader Award Dinner. Proceeds from the black tie event support the Ivey Alumni Association / Toronto International Student Awards and the Faculty Fellowship in Business Leadership established to attract top quality faculty to the School.

The Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario offers full-time undergraduate (HBA) and graduate degree programs (MBA and PhD), Executive MBA programs and non-degree programs in executive development and entrepreneurship. It is consistently ranked as one of Canada's top business schools and as one of the leading business schools in the world. Ivey has campuses in London (Ontario), Mississauga (Ontario) and Hong Kong (where it was the first North American business school to build a campus in Asia).

Event Details:

Location: Toronto Marriott Eaton Centre, 525 Bay Street, Toronto, ON
Date: Tuesday November 19, 2002
Time: Reception: 6:00p.m. Dinner: 7:00p.m.
Guests: Limited to 450

For further information please contact:

Barbara Wilkes, MBA,
Co-Chair Ivey Business Leader Award, Ivey Alumni Association/Toronto,
Tel: (416) 486-6698,;

Ed Pearce, Director,
Marketing & Communications, Richard Ivey School of Business,
Tel: (416) 598-4708, Fax: (416) 598-0669,

ECA stock price

TSX $5.70 Can -0.14

NYSE $4.36 USD -0.09

As of 2019-07-18T16:00:00. Minimum 15 minute delay